1820 Settler Party : Russell

Home Page | Party List

Party  Russell 
Leader  William Russell 
Number in the Party 
Area Party originated from  Lanarkshire, Scotland 
Area allocated to the party  Western Cape 
1820 Settler Ship  Aboena,    
Surnames in party  Clark, McLaren, McLean, Reid, Thompson, Unknown
Other Information  A party of 127 from Lanarkshire led by William RUSSELL sailed in "Abeona". She caught fire at sea and sank, 100 of the party being lost. 27 were picked up and carried to England. Eight of these sailed in "Sappho" in 1821.
Settler Handbook Content:   Led by William Russell of 48 Bridge Gate Street, Glasgow, Scotland. This was a party of Scots artisans and trademen whose deposits were paid through Monteith of Glasgow, and who sailed from Greenock in the Abeona on 13 October 1820. At sea on 25 November, in latitude 4° 30' N and longitude 25° 30' W, the ship caught fire, and after burning for fifteen hours was totally destroyed. Three small boatloads of survivors were rescued by a Portuguese merchant ship; 16 of the crew including the master, 27 emigrants and nine passengers were saved, and 114 people - nine of the crew, 100 emigrants and five passengers - were lost with the ship.

Six survivors of the Abeona disaster were given passage to the Cape in HMS Sappho in the following year, and arrived in Simon's Bay in August 1821. They applied for a grant of land, and presumably settled in the western Cape.


CLARK, James.

McLAREN, John. Joiner.

McLEAN, John.

REID, Thomas. Sawyer. w Agnes.

THOMPSON, Robert. Bricklayer.

Main sources for party list

Correspondence of Russell and Monteith with the Colonial Department (Public Record Office, London, CO 49/14); Account of the loss of the Abeona in GM Theal, Records of the Cape Colony vol. 13; Memorial of Abeona survivors on board Sappho (Cape Archives CO 158,146).

from THE SETTLER HANDBOOK by MD Nash page 112 

Home Page | Party List

Please help towards my time and effort in maintaining this website. Every £, $, € and Rand helps!
Many Thanks, Paul

This site powered by The Next Generation of Genealogy Sitebuilding v. 14.0.2, written by Darrin Lythgoe © 2001-2023.

Maintained by Paul Tanner-Tremaine. | Data Protection Policy, Terms of Use and Disclaimers.